#28daychallenge Day 24..Building an eCourse Community

I’ve missed the past few days of the challenge, for some reason my mind has just been completely blank for ideas. Each idea I have I struggle to really develop, which makes me wonder if it’s something I’m really interested in?

I figured for today, I would just try to write and see what comes…

and, there have been a least five different sentences in this spot that have been deleted….

Going back to read the top paragraph made me ask myself, what has been on my mind lately? I would have to stay it’s building community in online spaces.

In my post a few days ago, I talked about my experiences as an online learner and how much I have come to appreciate the building of communities in online eCourses. One thing that I’ve struggled with is trying to build a community in short two week courses. While some participants jump in and participate in the community, others do not. I know there are a variety of reasons for this, but I really want to make sure I’m doing everything possible to create a safe, welcoming space.

I’ve come to realize that when you have a community you are more likely to be invested in the course, the content and the other participants. We’re more likely to share and participate when we feel that others in the course value our input. This is something very important to me as an online facilitator

Last night, I had the opportunity to discuss this with other educators in the course I’m currently taking, and here are some ideas that came to mind:

  • Really utilizing the asynchronous course space to make connections.
  • Developing collaborative projects.
  • Sharing more about myself

As I think about revamping most of my current classes, here are some of my next steps:

  • Add a collaborative fun activity (something quick that encourages sharing)
  • create a video welcome message, encourage participants to do the same, if they are interested
  • add a recording webinar to introduce participants to many “how-to” aspects of our course
  • adjust the group projects in all of my courses, to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to contribute

I’m excited about moving things forward and making some changes. I’ve feel like I’ve changed quite a bit as an online facilitator and learner since I started these courses two years ago, and I really want my courses to reflect this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

